The second Bruntwood Playwriting Competition ran during 2008, with 1,200 plays submitted.

The judges were: actor and director Richard Wilson (Chair), actor Brenda Blethyn, director Roger Michell, the actor Michael Sheen, playwright Roy Williams, Greg Hersov – Artistic Director of the Royal Exchange Theatre, and Michael Oglesby – Chairman of Bruntwood

Chair of the Judges Richard Wilson said “all of the winning plays had equal ambition, merit and style”. Due to the standard of entries, the judging panel took the decision to split the £40,000 prize fund equally between four writers:

Naylah Ahmed for BUTCHER BOYS, in development with the Royal Exchange

Vivienne Franzmann for MOGADISHU, premiered in the main space at the Royal Exchange in January 2011, transferring to the Lyric Hammersmith. The play was also won Vivienne the George Devine Award for Most Promising Playwright 2010

Fiona Peek for SALT, premiered in The Studio at the Royal Exchange in January 2010

Andy Sheridan for WINTERLONG, premiered in The Studio at the Royal Exchange in February 2011

The other shortlisted writers were:

Tamsin Astbury – THE WAKE
Carolyn Jones- SANCTUARY
Richard Tyrell- PADDY BLACK AND THE U.N.
Laura Stevens- COMING UP FOR AIR
Benjamin Ellis- EIGHTY EIGHT