Yale Drama Series Award for Emerging Playwrights

The Yale Drama Series is seeking submissions for its 2023 playwriting competition. The winning play will be selected by the series’ current judge, Jeremy O. Harris. The winner of this annual competition will be awarded the David Charles Horn Prize of $10,000, publication of their manuscript by Yale University Press, and a celebratory event.

Past judges have included Edward Albee, David Hare, John Guare, Marsha Norman Nicholas Wright, Ayad Akhtar and Paula Vogel. Past winners have gone on to have full productions in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago and London.



1.This contest is restricted to plays written in the English language. Worldwide submissions are accepted.

2. Submissions must be original, unpublished full-length plays, with a minimum of 65 pages. Plays with less than 65 pages will not be considered. Translations, musicals, and children’s plays are not accepted.

3. The Yale Drama Series is intended to support emerging playwrights. Playwrights may win the competition only once.

4. Playwrights may submit only one manuscript per year. Only manuscripts authored by one playwright are eligible.

5. Plays that have been professionally produced or published are not eligible. Plays that have had a workshop, reading, or non-professional production or that have been published as an actor’s edition will be considered.

6. Plays may not be under option, commissioned, or scheduled for professional production or publication at the time of submission.

7. Plays must be typed, word-processed, page-numbered.

8. The Yale Drama Series reserves the right to reject any manuscript for any reason.

9. The Yale Drama Series reserves the right of the judge to not choose a winner for any given year of the competition and reserves the right to determine the ineligibility of a winner, in keeping with the spirit of the competition, and based upon the accomplishments of the author.


Midnight EST August 15, 2022.


Yale Drama Series Rules and Submission Guidelines

Published on:
25 May 2022
Opportunity deadline:
15 Aug 2022


Add comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *