Ambassadors announced for the Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting

Acclaimed British actors, Suranne Jones and Lesley Sharp become the first Bruntwood Prize ambassadors

Suranne Jones and Lesley Sharp known for their roles as Scott and Bailey in the ITV drama of the same name, will once again join forces to champion the importance of new writing as ambassadors for the Bruntwood Prize for playwriting.

Exchange Artistic Director Sarah Frankcom said ‘Lesley and Suranne are champions of the theatre, both on and off the stage, and are ardent supporters of new writing and the craft of playwriting. We know that the Bruntwood Prize has changed lives, our writers tell us that, and I’m thrilled that Suranne and Lesley are joining us to help champion the importance of playwrights and the Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting – an important and democratic cultural prize.’

Suranne Jones is an avid supporter of new talent and first became involved with the Bruntwood Prize in 2013 as a judge. She said ‘I’m thrilled to be involved with Bruntwood again and honoured to be an ambassador. I have great relationships with two of the writers from the year I was on the panel and I’m always looking to support new talent in our industry. We make stories come to life, but we need the people who write them to be nurtured first!’

Manchester-born Lesley Sharp is a keen advocate of new writing, regularly offering her time to lead workshops with young writers and performers to share knowledge of her craft commented ‘The Bruntwood Prize is renowned for discovering writers that have urgent, exhilarating and unique voices. Voices that would perhaps not be heard, plays that would not be seen if it wasn’t for the Prize. Writers that shape and change theatre, that ask us questions about our world, that offer us insights and perceptions we are thrilled and unnerved and entertained by. I am delighted to be part of the Bruntwood Prize family. Now, more than ever we need our lives, our society, our world to be documented, to be understood. We need great writers.’

Michael Oglesby, Chairman of Bruntwood added: ‘We are delighted to welcome both Suranne and Lesley to the Bruntwood Prize family to help us champion and open up new platforms to promote the craft’

Published on:
4 Jul 2017


Add comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *