Confused by the new award categories?

The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting has evolved. Now it’s in its 14th year from the shortlist, it is our intention that the Judges will award;


• The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting-a first prize of £16,000

• A Judges’ Awards of £8,000

• An Original New Voice Award of £8,000- available to playwrights who have not had full-length play professionally produced for 12 performances or more in a professional venue. All scripts entered by these playwrights are also eligible for the Bruntwood Prize, and Judges Award.

• An International Award of £8,000- open to international playwrights invited to anonymously apply via our named international partners: The BANFF Centre in Canada; Belvoir Theatre and Melbourne Theatre Company in Australia; Berkeley Rep and Playwrights Horizons in the USA. We are afraid that no other international submissions can be considered at this time.


If you still have questions about the reading process, you may find the answer to your query in the Prize Guidelines and FAQ or contact us on

Published on:
28 May 2019


Add comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *