2023 Alfred Fagon Awards

The competition is open to any playwright of Caribbean or African descent, resident in the UK, for the best original, new stage play in English. Entrants must confirm on their CV that that they are of African and Caribbean descent. New as well as established writers are encouraged to enter.


  • The play does not need to have been produced. However, if it has, only plays produced since August 2022 will be considered.
  • Each entrant can submit only one play. A play may also be nominated by a third party with the writer’s consent (e.g. via an agent).
  • Television, radio plays and film scripts will not be considered.



5pm, Monday, 31 July 2023

Only shortlisted writers will be contacted in early November 2023.

The writer of the winning play will be announced at The Alfred Fagon Award ceremony in November 2023.

The Alfred Fagon Award is supported by The Peggy Ramsay Foundation.


2023 Award – Alfred Fagon Award

Published on:
15 May 2023
Opportunity deadline:
31 Jul 2023


Add comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *