The 2020 Nick Darke Writers’ Award

The Award celebrates the life of Cornish playwright Nick Darke, and offers the opportunity to win £6,000. It is open to all writers resident in the UK and Europe aged 16 and over. Applicants must submit a full stage play script and a one-page synopsis. The winner will be announced in autumn 2020 at an award ceremony in London.

The award was last won by Jen Silverman for her play, Blinding, a strikingly original piece that addressed race, identity and gender politics, and Carla Grauls, who was recipient of the award in 2013, has just announced that her new play, Me Myself I, will be on at the Vaults Festival in February this year. Calra was also longlisted for the Bruntwood 2019- check the list of Longlisted productions coming up here:



  • The application must be made in English.
  • The competition is open to all UK and European writers aged 16 and over.
  • The writer must be the sole original author. The competition is not open to collaborations.
  • They do not accept submissions of scripts that have previously been produced or won other competitions.
  • They do not accept submissions of scripts previously entered into the Nick Darke Award.
  • minimum of 45 minutes in length, no maximum


Monday 4 May 2020.

Shortlisted applicants will be notified by Friday 11 September 2020. The shortlist will be announced on: nick-darke-award at which time the scripts will no longer be anonymous and writers’ names will be released.

The winner will be announced at an award ceremony in autumn 2020.

The winning writer must make themselves and their winning piece available for all publicity purposes within reason. This may include a performance or reading of the work during the Award Ceremony.


Published on:
21 Jan 2020


Add comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *