The BBC National Short Story Award 2019

The BBC National Short Story Award with Cambridge University (NSSA) is open  for submissions for the 14th year.

The BBC National Short Story Award is one of the most prestigious for a single short story, with the winning author receiving £15,000, and four further shortlisted authors £600 each. The stories are broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and published in an anthology. Last year’s winner of the BBC National Short Story Award was Trinidadian writer Ingrid Persaud, who won for ‘The Sweet Sop’, her ‘tender and ebullient’ story about a father-son relationship. Previous alumni include Lionel Shriver, Zadie Smith, Hilary Mantel, Jon McGregor and William Trevor.



9am (GMT) Monday 11th March 2019.


How to Enter

Applicants are encouraged to make their submission using the online Entry Form as early as possible before the deadline. If applicants are unable to access the online Entry Form, entries can be submitted by post.

Published on:
19 Dec 2018


Add comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *