Amateur playwrights world-wide are invited to submit unpublished one-act plays in English for the Kenneth Branagh Award for New Drama Writing. Three winning scripts will be selected for fully staged performances during the Windsor Fringe Festival in October 2020. One of the three scripts will be chosen for the £500 prize, judged on the writing only.

Please note: this award accepts paper copies shared via post. There is a £10 submission fee


  • Only amateur playwrights are eligible
  • Only one script per author will be accepted.
  • Each script must be an original work and not have been previously published or performed.
  • Each play must be no more than 30 minutes long, have a cast of no more than six actors, and be suitable for staging in a studio theatre.
  • So that each script may be judged anonymously, the author’s name and contact details must appear on the cover page only (along with the title), not in the script.
  • Pages must be numbered.

Deadline: 5th March 2020

The three winning writers will be notified by the middle of June 2020.

Results of the competition will be announced through the media, the Windsor Fringe web//Twitter/ Facebook sites.

The winner of the £500 award will be announced after the last night performance..

Published on:
2 Mar 2020


Add comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *